× Members

Refusal to alter previous PIP award on Mobility

More
4 years 11 months ago #231801 by Amanda Campion
Refusal to alter previous PIP award on Mobility was created by Amanda Campion
Hi there would be grateful of any help that anyone can offer.
I have been receiving PIP since 2016, initially I was awarded High rate Care but nothing for Mobility.
When I reapplied in August 2018 my symptoms hadn't changed at all so I put that and repeated the actual written account from the 2016 application. When the decision came back it was again High rate Care but also awarded low rate mobility with 10 points under Planning and following a journey.
I have just received a letter under the back checking of previous PIP for Mobility and the assessor has refused to change the mobility on the 2016-2018 award giving me 4 points.

He says "The threshold for Overwhelming Psychological Distress is a very high one. Although you have difficulty with anxiety the evidence does not suggest that this results in you being unable to complete journeys on the majority of days"

Is it worth submitting a Mandatory Reconsideration, we have no further evidence, just that I am currently getting low rate care and nothing has changed since 2016? The paragraph I wrote is the same for both periods.

Is it possible that if we did this the assessor could then re-look at my current award and take the mobility away?

In my head it seems like they are just trying to reduce the payout but am I missing anything?

Many Thanks for any help or advice

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
4 years 11 months ago #231839 by Gordon
A

What did you score the 10 points for this time? Descriptor (d); following a route to an unfamiliar place or (e); unable to undertake a journey.