× Members

ESA and carers allowance

More
9 months 3 weeks ago #281955 by Callista
ESA and carers allowance was created by Callista
Hi, this is my first time posting.

I am in receipt of ESA. My husband has taken early retirement to become my full time carer. Is he entitled to claim carer's allowance?

I am just completing my ESA Capability for work questionnaire as a review is due so I am sure I will have more questions

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 months 3 weeks ago #281981 by Gary
Replied by Gary on topic ESA and carers allowance
Hi Callista

Welcome to the forum.

You might want to have a look at the following FAQ which explains where everything is; www.benefitsandwork.co.uk/guides-for-claimants/faq/forum

Your partner cannot claim Carers Allowance if you only get ESA even in the support group, you can only claim CA if :

All of the following must apply:

* you’re 16 or over
* you spend at least 35 hours a week caring for someone
* you’ve been in England, Scotland or Wales for at least 2 of the last 3 years (this does not apply if you’re a refugee or have humanitarian protection status)
* you normally live in England, Scotland or Wales, or you live abroad as a member of the armed forces (you might still be eligible if you’re moving to or already living in an EEA country or Switzerland)
* you’re not in full-time education
* you’re not studying for 21 hours a week or more
* you’re not subject to immigration control
* your earnings are £139 or less a week after tax, National Insurance and expenses

www.gov.uk/carers-allowance

Gary

Nothing on this board constitutes legal advice - always consult a professional about specific problems
The following user(s) said Thank You: Callista

More
9 months 3 weeks ago #281990 by Gordon
Replied by Gordon on topic ESA and carers allowance
AND

The person you care for must already get one of these benefits:

Personal Independence Payment - daily living component