× Members

ESA tribunal refusal

More
5 years 5 months ago #221884 by Helabob
ESA tribunal refusal was created by Helabob
Hallo, I'm new to this. My son has been refused ESA at the tribunal stage and this means he has to go straight back to work. He has had two brain injuries and has been unable to work for 2 years. Most of his problems are not visible physically but mental for instance he cannot travel alone or on public transport and has concetration issues and dizzyness etc.
Is there any other route I can take him? can he reapply for ESA ? or is he on the scrapheap. I am at my wits end

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 5 months ago #221886 by Gordon
Replied by Gordon on topic ESA tribunal refusal
Rhody

Welcome to the forum, you might want to have a look at the following FAQ which explains where everything is

Welcome to Benefits and Work

I'm afraid your son's options are limited.

You can ask for a Statement of Reasons from the Judge in charge of his hearing

Tribunals – Requesting a Statement of Reasons

If you can show that there was an Error of Law in the making of the Decision then it may be possible to get a new hearing, although you will still need to deal with the issues that meant that the Tribunal found against him.

What is an Error of Law?

This is a long process, it could easily be a year before a new hearing is convened.

He can make a new claim for ESA but only if you can show that his existing conditions have deteriorated and that he would now reasonably receive an award or if he has a new condition, you will need new medical evidence to support the claim.

ESA has very specific criteria, do you know which of the ESA Descriptors that you expected him to meet? See our ESA Claim guides for more information.

www.benefitsandwork.co.uk/help-for-claimants/esa1

Gordon

Nothing on this board constitutes legal advice - always consult a professional about specific problems

More