× Members

Carer's NI Credits

More
8 years 7 months ago - 8 years 7 months ago #140375 by Maddy2014
Carer's NI Credits was created by Maddy2014
I have been told that I cannot have ESA contribution based as I don't have enough NI contributions. I have been receiving Carer's Credits for the last 6 years. Are these Class 1 therefore entitling me to claim ESA?!
Last edit: 8 years 7 months ago by bro58.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• bro58
8 years 7 months ago - 8 years 7 months ago #140377 by bro58
Replied by bro58 on topic Carer's NI Credits

Maddy2014 wrote: I have been told that I cannot have ESA contribution based as I don't have enough NI contributions. I have been receiving Carer's Credits for the last 6 years. Are these Class 1 therefore entitling me to claim ESA?!

Hi M2014,

Welcome to Benefits and Work :)

This Topic should help to explain it for you.

If not, please reply to this post and we will try to help further.

bro58

• bro58
8 years 7 months ago - 8 years 7 months ago #140380 by bro58
Replied by bro58 on topic Carer's NI Credits
Hi M2014,

Just to clarify,

You must have been receiving NI Credits as a result of you receiving Carers Allowance (CA) not just Carers Credits, before the NI Credits can count towards any potential CB ESA entitlement.

bro58

More
8 years 7 months ago - 8 years 7 months ago #140381 by Maddy2014
Replied by Maddy2014 on topic Carer's NI Credits
All I know is that I've been claiming Carer's Allowance for the last 6 years, no break and have paid NI contributions via employment in the past, about 15 years ago. I can't get past the gatekeepers at ESA who just say I cannot have any money. I first applied 2 1/2 months ago, asked for MR about a month ago, sent in ESA50 form a month ago and have herd nothing. Don;t know what to do next. They say the claim now will only be for NI contributions via ESA.

More
8 years 7 months ago - 8 years 7 months ago #140382 by Gordon