× Members

My Story Falure to dsiclose medical Improvement

• Ron22
  • Topic Author
15 years 1 month ago #5367 by Ron22
Let me tell you a story in which I have been subjected as far as I am concerned by a witch hunt by the DWP – DLA.
My background is that I have been involved as a legal adviser for some years some of those cases involved quite successful cases against the DWP. Indeed a number of stories were run in the press resulting in official apologies.

Unfortunately my health deteriorated and I was unable to work for some time – This related to both physical and mental health issues.

In 2003 I made a claim for DLA. I was visited by their Doctor who provided a report and on the basis of the report I was awarded DLA. This was due to in the main the mental health issues. However between the Claim and the Doctors visit I did manage to obtain employment but my condition had simply not improved. I worked from home at this stage.
I then obtained a job working away from home. It was quite honestly impossible to cope and I then obtained employment locally from 2005. However prior to this in 2005 I suffered an injury at work and I now suffer the effects of a prolapsed disc.
My claim had to be renewed in 2005. I submitted the claim and was awarded Middle Rate Care and higher Rate Mobility. I do have a lot of personal care need w which arise what is now apparent from me suffering form post traumatic stress disorder from the effects of an emotional abusive relationship. However at the tie it appeared this was simply depression and it was only after finally getting an appointment with a clinical psychologist that the forma diagnosis was made. This means needs of prompting in relation to washing and bathing, getting dressed, taking medication and therapy, communication (concentration problems) in similar issues.
I continued to work in the advice/legal sector.