× Members

CLAIMING DLA & GETTING IT CAN BE WORLDS APART

• Jenikay
  • Topic Author
12 years 4 months ago #74213 by Jenikay
I've been subscribing to B&W for 2 years and I've gleaned a lot of information, had a lot of help from the Forum and generally had a sympathetic ear when moaning about DMs! Prior to joining B&W I'd already made 3 applications for DLA all of which had been refused. My 4th application - which was my first one with B&W - I got awarded LRC and nothing for mobility. However I got HRM on appeal.

On renewal I've recently been awarded HRC & HRM indefinitely & without a medical either. You might think that my condition has deteriorated most severely in the last few years to get that increase. Well it hasn't really - I couldn't walk very well "without severe discomfort" 3 years ago and I still can't walk "without severe discomfort" today. I need a lot of help for daily living these days - but I still needed that same help on my first application for DLA in 2007. The difference today is that I've realised I needed to present my case differently for it to get a favourable result.

I'd like to consider myself as being pretty intelligent, although I didn't go to University I had good exam results at school and have gone on to gain further 'qualifications' by Further Education. So you'd think a form like the DLA would be pretty straightforward to me wouldn't you? Wrong...!!

On 3 applications I've made to them I've told them about my illness and disabilities hadn't I? Aren't they the main reason for claiming DLA? Of course they are! Without my illness and disabilities then I wouldn't be claiming DLA would I? Of course I woudn't! So why are they being difficult - what else have I got to do to prove I'm ill?