A freedom of Information (FoI) request has revealed the postcodes where claimants may be subject to a combined work capability assessment and PIP assessment. It also discloses that no private sector assessors will be involved.

Back in February we confirmed that DWP was to resume trials of an integrated assessment for PIP/ESA/UC in April.

The idea is not a single test for both benefits, but a single assessment at which the evidence needed both for PIP and a WCA will be collected.

The work will go ahead within a Departmental Transformational Area (DTA). This is essentially an area where new processes can be tested on claimants before being rolled-out across the country.

According to the FoI response the initial DTA site is in Tresco House, Marylebone, London.

Tresco House will only deal with claimants living in E5, N2, N3, N4, N6 London post codes who are claiming Universal Credit (UC) or Employment Support Allowance (ESA) and/or Personal Independence Payment (PIP).

Neither Capita, nor Atos (also known as IAS) nor Maximus (also known as CHDA) will be involved in the assessments, which is likely to mean they are being carried out by in-house DWP assessors.

You can read the full FoI response here.


Write comments...
or post as a guest
Loading comment... The comment will be refreshed after 00:00.

Be the first to comment.

We use cookies

We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies). You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.