× Members

DLA need some advice please about long term award.

More
10 years 3 months ago - 10 years 3 months ago #116521 by Gillian Hartley
Hi everyone, I am new to the forum but have used the guides and information on this site many times but I am stumped on this problem I have.
I have been receiving DLA for 5 years now as I have had back problems since an injury 20 years ago, 2 major operations on my spine later I still have mobility problems and have severe arthritis at multi-levels. My problem is that I have never received a long term award as they keep telling me that treatment will make me 'better' which it never has, as more problems have developed along the way. I am worried that because PIP is coming into force soon that I will not get my full mobility allowance. My award runs out in October 2014 as I was only given a year's award this time as my consultant was going to perform revised fusion so again they thought this would mean I may be better after treatment. Since my award my consultant has said that following a bone scan fusion will be of no benefit to me and that I have more arthritis problems that first thought. I was wondering if I could ask for a longer term award and then I may not have to be considered for PIP for a couple more years? However, I have read on here as far as I can tell that anyone on DLA now who asks to be considered for more or less help will automatically be asked to claim PIP instead. My case is not for a change in help and I can't find information to tell me if an extension of my award falls under the same rules or if I can even apply for a longer term award at all, since my circumstances have now changed.
Many thanks for your help in the past and thanks for anyone who reads or can offer any advice.
Last edit: 10 years 3 months ago by . Reason: Tick.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 years 3 months ago - 10 years 3 months ago #116527 by Gordon
GH