× Members

Home visit accepted recorded? How can i prepare?

• Mathew
  • Topic Author
10 years 2 weeks ago - 10 years 2 weeks ago #120687 by Mathew
Good afternoon, I am a 23 year old male suffering from Ongoing Depressive Disorder with anxiety and delusional thoughts diagnosed by a doctor at the hospital. I have been claiming ESA since November 2013 and was accepted for a home visit after my doctor did a supporting letter. The assessment is due for the 23rd of May 2014 I have recently just sent in a report from the mental health team at the hospital but not heard anything back... I'm getting more and more nervous about this assessment as my bedroom is the only place I feel comfortable and safe, I never leave my house unless accompanied and cannot stand public places :(
Last edit: 10 years 2 weeks ago by Gordon.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 years 2 weeks ago - 10 years 2 weeks ago #120690 by Gordon
Mathew

Welcome to the forum, you might want to have a look at the following FAQ which explain where everything is

Welcome to Benefits and Work

To prepare for the assessment there are a couple of things you should look at.

First, have a look at ESA Claim guides, I appreciate that you have already submitted your ESA50 but going through these will allow you to confirm whether you have provided the best answer that you could for each of the questions but also explains the underlying Descriptors that you are being assessed against.

www.benefitsandwork.co.uk/help-for-claimants/esa

Secondly, towards the back of the guides is a list of the questions that you are likely to be asked at the assessment. these may seem obtuse as very few relate directly to your conditions, much of the ESA assessment is done by assumption unless the claimant clarifies their answers, so for example; a question about whether you watch the TV will lead to conclusions about your ability to sit, your sight and hearing, ability to concentrate.