× Members

PIP Home Visit what to expect

More
9 years 2 months ago - 9 years 2 months ago #130062 by Margaret
PIP Home Visit what to expect was created by Margaret
Hi dee
I am waiting for a home assessment in March.
Does the assessor need to look at my bathroom and kitchen to see how I get about ? Sorry this is my first time to send a message.
Last edit: 9 years 2 months ago by .

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

9 years 2 months ago #130111 by
Replied by on topic PIP Home Visit what to expect

Margaret wrote: Hi dee
I am waiting for a home assessment in March.
Does the assessor need to look at my bathroom and kitchen to see how I get about ? Sorry this is my first time to send a message.

Hi M,

Welcome to Benefits and Work :)

I have given your query its own topic.

Feed back from several of our members who have had a PIP Home Assessment indicates that the Assessors do not ask to look around your home, and stay in the room that you choose to have the assessment in.

Of course, you may wish to show the assessor your kitchen/bathroom so that they see any aids or adaptations that you have to use.

You can read what to expect at your PIP Assessment from Page 64 onwards of our : PIP Claims Guide. (2nd Link on page)

Other members are most welcome to give details of their own experiences.

bro58

• cplmadison
9 years 2 months ago #130123 by cplmadison
Replied by cplmadison on topic PIP Home Visit what to expect
just had my home visit from ATOS with a physio.

Overall I think it went well, he just asked questions relating to my injuries, how they happened how they affect me etc.

Do I go out to the shops, do I use taxis or buses to get to doctors, How I cope in doctors waiting room etc

what aids or appliances I use to help me (you can download apps to remind you to take medication and also to take nutrition if you look in the app store) not sure if those apps count as aids but they do "prompt" you to do things so should be worthy of points.