× Members

ESA Claim

• Jacqueline
  • Topic Author
9 years 1 month ago #131393 by Jacqueline
ESA Claim was created by Jacqueline
I'm new to claiming anything off the government, as I've always worked for the past 28 years. I've realised what a state this government is in, when I've game to claim. My claim went in on the 14th August 2014 for ESA, I'm still waiting to be assessed. I thought according to the advice I was given, that I would be assessed within 13 weeks, some 7 months later, I've not had an assessment. What do I do?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• bro58
9 years 1 month ago - 9 years 1 month ago #131394 by bro58
Replied by bro58 on topic ESA Claim

Jacqueline wrote: I'm new to claiming anything off the government, as I've always worked for the past 28 years. I've realised what a state this government is in, when I've game to claim. My claim went in on the 14th August 2014 for ESA, I'm still waiting to be assessed. I thought according to the advice I was given, that I would be assessed within 13 weeks, some 7 months later, I've not had an assessment. What do I do?

Hi J,

Welcome to Benefits and Work :)

You are correct in that The ESA Assessment Phase is only supposed to last 13 weeks.

However, there is nothing in legislation to enforce this.

You are not alone, many ESA claimants have been stuck in The Assessment Phase for 12 months or more.

You could contact The DWP :

THE ESA PHONE NUMBER DWP : 0345 608 8545 Press Option 3 for ESA.

Where you could request that they fast track your ESA WCA through Maximus, so that The ESA DM can make a decision.

You could inform them that being in receipt of Assessment Rate ESA only is causing you significant financial difficulty.

This request may involve you having to escalate to a Supervisor/Manager, which would involve a call back, so it would be best if your ring up as early as possible.

If you get no joy with that, you could complain to your M.P. :

Contacting your MP