× Members

PIP - Appeal

• Merc
  • Topic Author
9 years 1 month ago #131997 by Merc
PIP - Appeal was created by Merc
Hello

I've been receiving higher rate DLA (mobility component) for the last 3 years, I've been assessed and refused PIP and my mandatory reconsideration has be refused. I have completely fused left ankle (medically know as arthrodedis) in addition to this I suffer with arthritis, knee, hip and back pain. This decision has really upset me as without the support I am unable to work (I have a motability car) I feel as though the DWP feel I am lying about my condition and that because I work I cannot be disabled. Would appreciate any advice on the appeal process and what to expect? What information should I provide them with?

Thank you in advance

M

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 1 month ago #132000 by Gordon
Replied by Gordon on topic PIP - Appeal
Merc

Welcome to the forum, you might want to have a look at the following FAQ which explain where everything is

Welcome to Benefits and Work

The first thing you need to understand is that the criteria for a PIP Enhanced award for Mobility is significantly stricter that for DLA HRM, DLA typically looks at a distance of 50m for PIP it is only 20m, I am assuming that you do not expect to score points for the Going Out Descriptor, if you do then it would increase the distance you can walk.

Did you score any points at all? If you did then the issue will be showing that the distance you can walk is less than suggested, if you did not score any points then you may need to show that it is restricted in the first place.

Any distance you can walk must be done reliably, this means

• Safely – in a fashion that is unlikely to cause harm to themselves or to another person.
• To a necessary and appropriate standard – given the nature of the activity.
• Repeatedly – as often as is reasonably required.
• In a timely manner – in a reasonable time period.