× Members

Do I Appeal or Not?

• Susan
  • Topic Author
9 years 1 month ago - 9 years 1 month ago #132071 by Susan
Do I Appeal or Not? was created by Susan
Hi, I am extremely new to this, but hope that someone can give me some advice! To cut a long story short, I applied for PIP last June, and after months of waiting, I had to have a face to face Assessment in February (this was with a Physiotherapist). I have numerous problems including anxiety, panic attacks, osteo-arthritis to name but a few. I received a letter within two weeks telling me "that it was not the news that I was hoping for" and would not be receiving any PIP. I requested my Assessment report, and asked for a Mandatory ~Reconsideration. Within a week I received a letter telling me that I was entitled to the Standard Rate of the Daily Living Component, but nothing for the Mobility Component.
I feel that the Mobility was going to be the more probable one that I would be awarded, as I can't go anywhere on my own, and on every journey I have to have my Sat-Nav on as a backup. The letter also stated that the Assessor felt that I could walk more than 200 metres unaided.
My question is: Has anyone else been in this situation, and would it be worthwhile taking it to an Appeal, or would I be likely to lose what I have already been awarded.
I would also like to add that the Physio virtually answered every question with the same comments.
I hope that someone can give me some good advice, as I only have about 2 weeks left to put in an appeal.
Last edit: 9 years 1 month ago by bro58.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• bro58
9 years 1 month ago - 9 years 1 month ago #132074 by bro58
Replied by bro58 on topic Do I Appeal or Not?