× Members

Permitted work

• Carol Bourne
  • Topic Author
9 years 4 weeks ago #132784 by Carol Bourne
Permitted work was created by Carol Bourne
Hi Folks
I am on long term ESA & need some info on 'permitted work'
I am currently under a psychiatrist for severe depression (due to being unable to work after injury), & have been for the last 2 years
Some time ago, he told me to resume my hobby if I could stand the pain from my injury (I am a qualified football female referee) - so I did :)
I referee on a Saturday or Sunday, when I feel well enough, & I get £28 per game, which includes travel expenses - I do not referee every week & only referee at below County standard (not at a professional level at all), & the season runs from September to May (no refereeing June-August)
This is all I can do, even though it can be painful & I take loads of painkillers, but it keeps me sane :woohoo:
I have just found out that this could affect my ESA, so:
Is this classed as 'permitted work'? or voluntary as I do it on an ad-hoc basis?
Do I have to it report to them?
Will my ESA be reduced / stopped because I haven't told them?
I have checked that although refereeing at this level is not a 'job', you do have to declare it to the tax office if you pay tax........

I look forward to any help with this
Thanks

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 4 weeks ago #132811 by Gordon
Replied by Gordon on topic Permitted work
CB

Welcome to the forum, you might want to have a look at the following FAQ which explain where everything is

Welcome to Benefits and Work

In case you are not aware, your real name appears to be showing in the forum, if you want to change this then follow the instructions in the following FAQ

My full name is showing, how can I stop it?

Please forgive my answer, but in addition to answering your question I need to make you aware of some of the worst case issues that could also arise, hopefully this will not be the case.