× Members

DLA - how best to attain a LONGER award?

More
9 years 3 weeks ago - 9 years 3 weeks ago #132794 by John
I am a regular subscriber to Benefits and Work and would first of all like to thank you for putting together such amazing guides. They really are invaluable and in the past have helped me to attain transfer from Income Support to the ESA Support Group without a medical and higher rate DLA for both care and mobility.

The reason why I am emailing is because I am about to apply for DLA again. My current DLA award expires this August and I have unexpectedly been sent a DLA renewal pack rather than the PIP claim form that I was expecting.

My problem is that I have been receiving fixed term awards of DLA for 2 years and would like a longer award. I therefore wondered what is the best way to try and attain a longer award at the application stage?

If after being awarded DLA again I am granted a further 2 year award what kind of evidence would I need to provide to try and attain a longer award should I wish to proceed to Mandatory Reconsideration/Appeal?

Many thanks
Last edit: 9 years 3 weeks ago by bro58.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• bro58
9 years 3 weeks ago - 9 years 3 weeks ago #132799 by bro58
Replied by bro58 on topic DLA - how best to attain a LONGER award?

John wrote: I am a regular subscriber to Benefits and Work and would first of all like to thank you for putting together such amazing guides. They really are invaluable and in the past have helped me to attain transfer from Income Support to the ESA Support Group without a medical and higher rate DLA for both care and mobility.

The reason why I am emailing is because I am about to apply for DLA again. My current DLA award expires this August and I have unexpectedly been sent a DLA renewal pack rather than the PIP claim form that I was expecting.