× Members

Contribution based ESA (Support group) and PIP

More
8 years 11 months ago - 8 years 11 months ago #135906 by Andrew Henshaw
Contribution based ESA (Support group) and PIP was created by Andrew Henshaw
Hi,

I have been recieving contribution based ESA since November 2013, and was awarded the lower level of PIP a couple of months ago, backdated to July 2014.

Thanks by the way for the excellent guides.

Anyway, I got a back payment for the PIP which was very welcome at the time, but my ESA has not been affected at all. Should there be any change to it, I've read about disability premiums etc but I'm not sure if these only apply to income based ESA and not contribution based, and should it be automatic or do I have to claim for that as well?

Also, if there is an extra payment, would it be backdated.

I had to give up work due to a mental illness and while I'm getting there, its very slow and any help I can get from the government is welcome.
Last edit: 8 years 11 months ago by .

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

8 years 11 months ago - 8 years 11 months ago #135907 by

Andrew Henshaw wrote: Hi,

I have been recieving contribution based ESA since November 2013, and was awarded the lower level of PIP a couple of months ago, backdated to July 2014.

Thanks by the way for the excellent guides.

Anyway, I got a back payment for the PIP which was very welcome at the time, but my ESA has not been affected at all. Should there be any change to it, I've read about disability premiums etc but I'm not sure if these only apply to income based ESA and not contribution based, and should it be automatic or do I have to claim for that as well?

Also, if there is an extra payment, would it be backdated.

I had to give up work due to a mental illness and while I'm getting there, its very slow and any help I can get from the government is welcome.

Hi AH,

Thanks for the positive feedback on our guides and well done on the recent PIP Award ! :)