× Members

DLA to PIP Failed assessment

• Dizzylady
  • Topic Author
8 years 7 months ago - 8 years 7 months ago #140317 by Dizzylady
DLA to PIP Failed assessment was created by Dizzylady
Hello
I am new to the forum and any help or advice would be gratefully received.
I had been receiving top rate mobility and middle rate care for DLA for 5 years but scored only 2 points in total when I went for my PIP assessment with Atos and that was for wearing hearing aids.
A couple of years ago I won at a tribunal for ESA ( NI conts only) and the judge made a recommendation the DWP left me alone for at least 5 yrs as my condition (Menieres disease) has no cure and is unlikely to ever improve.
I sent a copy of this when I had to make the PIP claim but the assessor said this was not included in the information she was provided with.
It is a very unpredictable condition and when I get the recurrent severe vertigo attacks I can do absolutely nothing. Can't walk, cook, bathe, get to the loo etc. etc.
It's damaged my balance so I fall or crash into things a lot on the "good days"
I said I had more bad days than good. The report says because I don't suffer with vertigo for more than 50% of the time I score 0 points.
I said I never cook now because my coordination is poor and I've scalded myself in the past when straining veg etc.
The report says I score 0 points as I can prepare and cook simple meals.
I was asked if I get aura with migraine and I said yes I did
The report says I get aura with Vertigo (I don't) so get warnings of an attack ( I don't)

I am going to ask for the mandatory reconsideration. Am I better speaking to someone on the telephone or should I do it in writing?
Many thanks
Last edit: 8 years 7 months ago by slugsta.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
8 years 7 months ago #140324 by slugsta
Replied by slugsta on topic DLA to PIP Failed assessment