× Members

Ending ESA claim after years

• panther50
  • Topic Author
8 years 6 months ago #142693 by panther50
Ending ESA claim after years was created by panther50
Hi I hope you can help me- you've been very helpful in the past. I have a long term health condition have been in WRAG for years (on IB since 2000) & I'm currently on ESA (CB), but no longer get any benefit paid only NI credits (for past 2 years). After good advice from my Job Centre I've been doing supported Permitted Work for over 1 1/2 years very successfully. I enjoy my job and would like to do more hours now (work is able to offer this).

However, I will earn over £104 allowed, working less than 16 hours week. I really want to do this as 2 shorter days works with my health condition and will be glad to see back of DWP, but I'm tying myself in knots about closing my claim. I've checked everything out. I'll earn just over LEL so will get NI paid/credited through work which should look after my pension. I understand I'll be too short of contributions if I ever need to claim ESA (CB) again as NI ESA benefit credits won't count.

How and when do I need to let the DWP know- I don't want a gap in my NI credits? Do I say I'm closing my claim, but my health condition hasn't changed? I don't know when in month NI is credited, but I'm paid monthly by my work. Can they sanction my NI credits if I break the rules? What's the worst that could happen? Could I tell them just before I get paid over the correct amount? Is there any option for an overlap?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
8 years 6 months ago #142700 by Gordon
Replied by Gordon on topic Ending ESA claim after years
Panther