× Members

DLA to PIP

More
8 years 5 months ago #146405 by toriar
DLA to PIP was created by toriar
I've been receiving DLA for many years - around 15 - but because our household income is too much I don't actually get any money but they do pay my contributions which is obviously very useful for my pension when I get there in 7 years time. I need 2 more years of contributions before I get to the 35 years of contributions necessary for a full state pension - will someone in my position need to transfer to PIP or will they leave me on DLA for the 2 years and then just stop it? Or what will happen?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
8 years 5 months ago #146406 by Gordon
Replied by Gordon on topic DLA to PIP

Worriedsick wrote: I've been receiving DLA for many years - around 15 - but because our household income is too much I don't actually get any money but they do pay my contributions which is obviously very useful for my pension when I get there in 7 years time. I need 2 more years of contributions before I get to the 35 years of contributions necessary for a full state pension - will someone in my position need to transfer to PIP or will they leave me on DLA for the 2 years and then just stop it? Or what will happen?

I think you are confusing DLA and ESA, DLA is unaffected by household income and does not pay NI Credits.

Your DLA will be transferred to PIP as I am guessing you were under the age of 65 on 8 April 2013, invitations are being made at random and it will take at least three years to move everybody across.

On the assumption that you are receiving ESA, you will continue to receive NI Credits that count towards a full State Pension as long as you continue to meet the criteria for an award, you should expect to be re-assessed at some point, but I cannot predict whem, you can contact the DWP and they may be able to tell when this will happen.

Gordon