× Members

Home Visit for PIP Assessment?

More
7 years 11 months ago #157684 by Kirsty
Home Visit for PIP Assessment? was created by Kirsty
Hi, I'm new to this so very sorry if my question has already been asked. I suffer really bad anxiety and depression and have done for 10 years. I've just had to forms to change from DLA to PIP and have sent them back. I have received a date for a medical assessment and they want me to go a a centre even though I requested a home visit. My anxiety has gone into overdrive. How can I get a home visit from them? Thank you any help much appreciated x

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
7 years 11 months ago - 7 years 11 months ago #157689 by slugsta
Replied by slugsta on topic Home Visit for PIP Assessment?
Hi Kirsty and Welcome to the forum, you might want to have a look at the following FAQ which explain where everything is

Welcome to Benefits and Work

Whether to give a home assessment is entirely at the discretion of the assessor. However, you stand a better chance if your request is supported by a letter from your doctor (indeed, you stand very little chance without).

The claimant is allowed to reschedule the assessment once only without risking the claim being closed. You can use this to your advantage if you need to buy some time (in order to sort out a Dr's letter, for instance) but you need to be very sure that you would be able to keep the next appointment - whether it be scheduled at your home or an assessment centre.

You might wish to bookmark/favourite this on your web browser now so that you can find it easily in future. That means that you will be able to return and ask further questions without having to start a new topic each time. It helps us enormously if everything related to the same claim is kept in one place - and I hope you will find it useful too :)

Nothing on this board constitutes legal advice - always consult a professional about specific problems