× Members

Letter from DWP re delay in PIP decision

More
8 years 2 months ago #150340 by megsta
Hi, I'd be really grateful for any advice or to hear if anyone else has experienced something similar.

I have been receiving DLA (HRC LRM) for more than ten years. In early January I reported an improvement in my condition and was invited to apply for PIP. I received a letter telling me that my DLA would continue until a decision was made on my PIP claim.

I have just discovered,however, that my DLA has been suspended and I will not receive any payments until a decision is made re PIP. When I rang them I was told that this was because it was 'a generic letter' and it didn't apply to me because I had told them my condition had improved. I told them that I didn't see how they could send me a letter saying my payments would continue, after they had already suspended them, and then claim that it was just because it was a generic letter.

I feel really upset and annoyed about this. Nowhere in anything I have been sent or in any literature I have seen does it say that your DLA will be suspended until a PIP decision is made. It says that if you report a change of circumstances your DLA will continue throughout the PIP claim process. The fact that they actually wrote and told me my payments would continue when they had already suspended them just makes it even worse.

I depend on DLA to pay for care I need. Though I felt my condition had improved enough to notify the DLA, that does not mean that I am suddenly better and don't need any care at all. I now face the prospect of many months without payment and no way of paying my carer. So far I haven't even received a PIP claim form.

I just feel really let down and upset and worried about how I am going to manage.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
8 years 2 months ago #150362 by Gordon
Replied by Gordon on topic Letter from DWP re delay in PIP decision
megsta