× Members

Compliance interview HELP

More
5 years 2 months ago #228488 by Cericah83
Compliance interview HELP was created by Cericah83
Hi, I'm not sure if anybody can relieve my anxieties but here's hoping so.
I today have received a compliance letter saying they are reviewing my benefits and circumstances. Firstly, is this done randomly or has some spiteful person been stirring goodness-knows-what. My anxiety is through the roof to say the least.
I have been claiming benefits for a few years now but my circumstances haven't changed, I claim IS, CA, HB, CTB, CTC and my children and hubby are on DLA &PIP respectively. My husband is also on ESA (contribution based).
We had a benefit review done by the Citizens Advice a couple of months ago which showed we were actually owed money- could this have triggered this 'interview'- we know Citizens Advice have funding from the DWP?
Also, I will be away on the date of the interview- I have arranged to take my disabled son away for a few days, it was booked and paid for a few weeks ago so can't be cancelled without losing money (and causing huge upset to my son). does this count as good reason for re-arranging the interview?
I haven't stopped shaking since I opened the letter, everything I have googled seem to point to 'fraud' and very few seem to be randomly sent. One website talks about DWP targets and clawing back money? My son was randomly selected once and he doesn't even claim benefits- it was from an old claim! Or could it be a simple review as to be fair I haven't had an interview with the DWP for a while and that was for carers allowance about 2 years ago.