× Members

PIP and ESA success after over 1 yr into my appeal

More
4 years 8 months ago #233356 by Tess
Not sure if I’m posting this in the right place as I’m not used to using forums, so please forgive me if this is not the right place.

To give some background I have been a mental health professional with the same organisation for 17 years. In May 2017 I was unfairly dismissed and subject to disability discrimination.
I took the case to employment tribunal and was successful, although still waiting for any compensation payout.

At the same time as all this was going on and I was extremely unwell due to the stress, I also had to go through appeals process for benefits.
I was awarded ESA from September 2017.
I was also under threat of losing my home due to non-payment of mortgage and was not entitled to apply for mortgage interest benefit for 39 weeks (by which time I would imagine Most mortgage providers would have started repossession proceedings)

I also put in a claim for PIP and was refused but went through the appeals process using the guides you provide on Website and attended for an appeal where as I was extremely unwell. The judge advised me to resubmit my Witness statement with more detail.
I was Given a second date for the appeal hearing on the 23rd of September 2018 16 months after I put my original claim in. On the 22nd of September 2018 I received a phone call from DWP stating they had re-examined my original evidence and decided to award me standard rate care and enhanced mobility backdated to June 2017.
With the backdated award I was able to pay off my mortgage arrears and at least now have the stability of being able to keep my home.

This was an incredibly difficult two years but thanks to benefits and work Advice I was successful in my PIP appeal Which also awarded me severe disability premium onto my ESA.