× Members

ESA & PIP ARRIVED TOGETHER!!!

More
4 years 8 months ago #236032 by SUE C C
ESA & PIP ARRIVED TOGETHER!!! was created by SUE C C
Hello I'm a 1 day newbie to B&W. I've subscribed and have been checking out your ESA guide. It's been a while since my first ESA 2013 but I've never had PIP so I'm in transition from DLA from 1999. Is it usual to have the two assessments come together, or is it just my bad luck? I was wondering if I could get an extension on either of them, ESA due 9 September & PIP, initial letter/declaration due 4 September? Apparently PIP is done in 2 stages but because I'm not great on the telephone they have agreed to send me a paper application to say I want to now claim PIP. Has anyone else had this experience, or am I on my own, not?

Nothing on this board constitutes legal advice - always consult a professional about specific problems

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
4 years 8 months ago #236042 by BIS
Replied by BIS on topic ESA & PIP ARRIVED TOGETHER!!!
Hi Sue

Welcome to the forum, you might want to have a look at the following FAQ which explains where everything is

Welcome to Benefits and Work

Unfortunately, a lot of people receive the two assessments - ESA and PIP at a similar time, but it is just co-incidence. ESA normally gets reviewed every three years - you've been lucky if you haven't had a review since 2013. The DLA to PIP migration is done randomly - so you are just unlucky.

You can get a two week extension for PIP. All you have to do is ring up and ask. The extension will be granted. Make sure that when you fill in your form that you tell them if you have any dates that you can't make for an assessment. (holidays/hospital appointments etc).

You can read more about PIP from our guide.
www.benefitsandwork.co.uk/help-for-claimants/pip