× Members

I am a paramedic with ADHD

More
1 month 1 day ago #289678 by Jack
I am a paramedic with ADHD was created by Jack
Hi all,

I’m hoping I can ask for some advice and guidance.

I was diagnosed ADHD two and a half years ago during my paramedic training. I have been a qualified paramedic now for 2 and a half years.

Though I feel like I perform well as a paramedic thanks to the high demands of the job complimenting my ADHD, my condition still causes me countless issues in everyday life. So I have decided to apply for PIP, my concern is the assessor will either dismiss my struggles because of my ability to do my job, or my job will be at risk because my application discloses my struggles.

I’m concerned that if my employer or the health care professions council finds out they will be concerned I cannot do my job to the ability that is required. Although I am confident I can do my job the standards required, and at times I am able to perform beyond those standards, I am concerned my job or my success in applying for PIP will be at risk.

Is it best to leave my job role out of my application? Or will they look into it and find out eventually? Or is it best to disclose my job and justify how I am able to perform in my role but still struggle with my ADHD?

Really appreciate you taking the time to read this.

Best wishes,
J

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
1 month 1 day ago #289682 by BIS
Replied by BIS on topic I am a paramedic with ADHD
Hi Jack

Many congratulations on completing the paramedic training and gaining the qualification.