× Members

The future of PIP

More
1 week 4 days ago #291083 by pipsqueak
The future of PIP was created by pipsqueak
When this "lovely" government announced changes to PIP recently, my heart sunk. Everything points to eradicating PIP and any form of disability benefits full stop.
Now, today's Benefits and Work's newsletter confirms my worst fears as it mentions the migration of PIP onto UC. Since, but please tell me if I'm wrong, benefits under the UC umbrella are means tested, this means that those of us who work and are in receipt of PIP will either lose PIP or have to stop working, being forced to apply to one of the work related benefits.
In my case, I don't earn very much at all but I am also a part-time student. I cannot claim UC because the DWP treat my student loan as an income (the form asked for the full amount which covers 7 years). My PIP claim is also under review (12 months and counting, currently waiting for the face to face farcical "assessment").
Labour have already said many times that they would not abolish UC and some Labour MPs on the right of the party (e.g., Alison McGovern) support the gvt's planned changes.
This means I can see no future whatsoever. My disability is for life and I will never earn enough to survive without PIP which has allowed me to work, be a productive member of society (they love that, don't they, politicians) and be independent. What a vile society we live, and die, in.
The following user(s) said Thank You: KABTT

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
1 week 4 days ago #291097 by Gordon
Replied by Gordon on topic The future of PIP
pip

I think you have misread the Newsletter, there is no intention to move PIP into UC.

Gordon

Nothing on this board constitutes legal advice - always consult a professional about specific problems
The following user(s) said Thank You: Katathome01

More
1 week 3 days ago #291114 by CCG
Replied by CCG on topic The future of PIP