× Members

is voluntary work worth doing?

More
13 years 8 months ago #23601 by Alan4950
is voluntary work worth doing? was created by Alan4950
I have a bit of a dilemma regarding whether or not to write to the DWP for permission to do a few hours helping students with their English. I used to be a teacher but had to retire in 1992 following a brain tumour(removed, obviously) and subsequent epilepsy which left me with memory/concentration/minor seizure problems that prevent me from doing any paid work. I'm on IC and DLA(middle rate care, low rate mobility. I've been studying part-time (languages) and would like to help overseas students living here to improve their English. The local college are prepared to let me sit with students but I fear that the DWP might take this as a sign that I can actually go back to full time teaching.
Reading other cases on the forum gives me the impression that the DWP is akin to the Gestapo and should not be given the slightest pretext for stopping someone's benefit and that any application to do voluntary work, such as the one I'm considering is tantamount to a signed confession that I am a malingering fraud. Any advice, please.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
13 years 8 months ago #23614 by Doris
Replied by Doris on topic Re:is voluntary work worth doing?
I can only give my personal experience, but I was in a similar position. I was informed by a volunteering organistion that a voluntary work agreement system is in place for some charity's/company's and the DWP. If you did any work for one of these particpating company's / charity's, they notified the DWP and sorted out all your paperwork. But I found very few places were signed up to it.

The idea behind the scheme was to prevent people from carrying out charity work and then getting their benefits stopped.