× Members

ongoing esa claim

• davuck
  • Topic Author
13 years 6 months ago #26377 by davuck
ongoing esa claim was created by davuck
Hi Everybody,

Ive been receiving esa since feb 2009 and ive now got to go to another medical at the end of this month as my claim is being reviewed etc.

My illness is a range of mental conditions related to a brain injury.

Should the atos doctor be qualified as a pysciatarist or something related to brain injury etc to be able to assess me ?

I passed my first medical in June 2009 or thereabout but am really worried as ive heard things have changed.

Any help or advice much appreciated and also what is the significance of how you travel to the medical?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
13 years 6 months ago - 13 years 6 months ago #26379 by Derek4
Replied by Derek4 on topic Re:ongoing esa claim
Hi Davuck

I understand, from information from Medical Services, that claimants are matched with available doctors with the most appropriate knowledge of their condition. That doesn’t mean that you will see a doctor with any knowledge of your condition, only if one's available. They are generally just trained to assess your functional ability in relation to the Work Capacity Assessment.

To answer your second question, ATOS doctors, together with the software they use to produce medical reports, make very crude assumptions about your ability from the way you travel to the medical centre.

For physical disabilities they may assume that you had no problem walking from the bus stop and enter that information into the computer, without actually asking if you had difficulty or needed to stop for rests. Such claimants would be advised to tell the doctor of any difficulties without being asked.