× Members

living in France and claiming IB

• minky1
  • Topic Author
13 years 5 months ago #31026 by minky1
living in France and claiming IB was created by minky1
I have been claiming IB for 10 years, I now live in France and have been for the last 6 years. Before I moved abroad I had to have 2 medicals undertaken by consultants working for the DWP, on both occassions I was deemed unfit for work. Since living in France I have seen my doctor regularly (every 3 months) for check ups,and drug reviews. I've had regular full body x-rays every 2 years, to see if my condition has worsened (it has)I have been regularly contacted by the DWP and filled out the work assessment form on 3 occasions, I have sent these back with a covering letter from my French doctor with the written report which I have been given each time with my x-rays outlining the problems with my spine, hip and pelvis. When i was last reviewed by the dwp, they said that my case would not be reviewed again until May 2010, I still haven't heard anything. Does anyone know how people in my situation (physical impairment), and living abroad, are going to be treated under this new regime?? I feel so sorry for every one out there in the UK and abroad who don't know what is going to happen to their benefits, most people like me have proberly worked all their lives and paid into the system, and should be able to get help when needed, and are sick or disabled due to no fault of their own.......

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
13 years 5 months ago #31122 by Steve Donnison
Replied by Steve Donnison on topic Re:living in France and claiming IB
Hi minky1,

I don't think living in France will make any difference to how your claim will be assessed in the future. At some point you will be sent an ESA50 and be assessed for ESA. If necessary a French doctor will be asked to provide medical evidence for the DWP before a decision is made.

Good luck,

Steve