× Members

Can you work and claim JSA if refused ESA?

• libbyrose
  • Topic Author
13 years 19 hours ago #55710 by libbyrose
I realise that might sound strange. briefly I was disgnosed with fibromayalgia in March 2010 after being taken very unwell late 2009 following a gradual decline in health for some time. I was signed off by my Gp from December and I tried to return to work in February as I have a job I love and did not want to lose. Since I also have chronic low blood pressure part of my symptoms are that I fall at random and have broken limbs doing so, so I am considered a health and safety risk. Therefore, since I work in a school, I was not allowed back to the work place and had to undertake admin work instead for a few hours a week. I made two attempts to do this and both times collapsed again. I was finally signed off in July and told to 'stay off' until I was stable. I was given contribution based ESA from January this year, and went for my ATos medical on April 1st. I actually fell over whilst at the medical centre, which the examining doctor did not even acknowledge. The exam was not nice at all, and I kept losing concentration owing to fatigue. Despite all this I heard today that I have been given ZERO points and need to appeal. I have to say even the lady from the Job Centre who phoned to tell me was a bit dumbfounded as she realises my history of falls alone gives me limited availability for work. She also said she would not blame me for complaining to Atos about the attitude of the Examiner which was cold to say the least. Now though, I will need to lodge an appea. Meanwhile, my GP has signed me back for eight hours a week to see how I get on with my job. If I'm not able to get ESA, does anyone know if I would be able to apply for JSA given that I only have eight hours availability a week?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• kittykit
13 years 17 hours ago #55741 by kittykit