× Members

Make A New Claim DLA When Appealing

More
12 years 9 months ago #60209 by Sad Lisa
Make A New Claim DLA When Appealing was created by Sad Lisa
I have been claiming DLA at Higher rate for 7 years and Lower Rate Mobility. Both were awarded Indefinately.
These awards were made on my Mental state. Since developing a physical illness too which is narrowing my spine and having waited 6 months to make sure this wasn't a small back problem I made a claim for Mobility allowance to have all my previous claim overturned too despite there being no change except I now get no treatment in the area where I now live! I have appealed immediately but I have found out that because of the time lapse until appeal an appeal can be overturned for taking too long and the gentleman was asked why he hadn't made a fresh claim.

I phoned DLA who said I could make a fresh claim as I now had no ongoing claim and the appeal was a serarate issue and should I win that I could in theory get my DLA reinstated and get any money outstanding from the Appeal.

This has been substanciated by a Manager at the CAB and evenually by my local councils benefit team.

Why are we not told to do this as my reassement alone could take over 11 weeks before getting to appeal stage and at least you have nothing to lose in making a fresh application at the same time.

Anyone else aware of this or used this :blush: :dry:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• pete17971
12 years 9 months ago #60218 by pete17971
Replied by pete17971 on topic Re:Make A New Claim DLA When Appealing
Sad Lisa wrote:

I have been claiming DLA at Higher rate for 7 years and Lower Rate Mobility. Both were awarded Indefinately.