ESA (Support Group) confirmation

• Mhambi
  • Topic Author
12 years 8 months ago #63155 by Mhambi
ESA (Support Group) confirmation was created by Mhambi
Hi all,

When I first heard I had to go for a Medical my first thought was
"How the heck do I get there?"
As the nearest ATOS Centre is over 10 miles away, neither I nor my wife has transport (at all) and I am lucky if I can walk as far as across the road.
I got then the info from 'Benefits and Work' that you could apply for a home examination.
I did so (even it cost me £15 for the Doctors letter to be faxed from the surgery to ATOS) but I got eventually a 'real and understanding' doctor visiting me and we did my medical within 13min. (I know that because I recorded it, just in case).
I can tell she knew what she was doing having worked as a nurse myself till my back problems set in and I was complimented out of work without a pension or anything (compensation claims where unheard of in 1995).
So, now I can't walk any more and was in a state of panic of loosing my IB.
Well, today I got the 'dreaded' call that I was placed on the 'support group'.
Thanks to this site as I never know you could have your medical at home.
ATOS has some good personal, my example shows this but I guess they are only very thin on the ground.
Now I am applying (again) for DLA etc. and hope that this time I be able to get that. Last time I tried 5 years back I was 'too well' and was able to walk further then 200 meters.
I rather would be able to walk and dress myself and do my own hygiene then getting DLA but I can't do it so I guess it is only fair to ask now?
If they would have called me yesterday they could have congratulated me to my birthday which I spend all day and night on the bed even it was nice outside.
All I want is being able to get out and about again and I do hope I get my DLA as I could get myself a Mobility Scooter then, now there is something I would like to celebrate to.