× Members

How many times?

• weeble Read
  • Topic Author
10 years 7 months ago - 10 years 7 months ago #110431 by weeble Read
How many times? was created by weeble Read
Hi everyone, I am pretty new to this so hope this works!
My question is this - how many times do I have to keep applying for ESA? I applied last year and was awarded it and placed in the support group due to severe rheumatoid arthritis and having several joint replacements with other related complications. I was awarded this at the end of June 2012 and have just received the new form asking me to apply again! I rang DWP who said this is correct and I could be asked to do this every three months if they wanted. Talk about feeling persecuted! I know what I will be doing all weekend and it is NOT wind-surfing!! :angry:Anyone else feel the same?
Thanks in advance,
Weeble.
Last edit: 10 years 7 months ago by slugsta.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 years 7 months ago #110434 by slugsta
Replied by slugsta on topic How many times?
Hi weeble,

I'm afraid that periodic reassessment is the backbone of the government's Welfare Reforms :( As you have discovered, the minimum interval is 3 months going up to a maximum of 2 years for WRAG and 3 years for Support Group.

The reassessment period does not form part of the decision and cannot be appealed.

How often will I be reviewed

You might like to consider filling in the PDF version of the ESA50 form this time round, this will make it a bit quicker and easier next time you are reassessed.

Using The PDF Version Of The ESA50 Questionnaire

You should be aware that the ESA descriptors have changed since last year so youi should familiarise yourself with the changes and make full use of our ESA guide

ESA claims and appeals

I suggest that you bookmark this page, or make it a favourite on your web browser, so that you can find it easily in future. Please come back to this page if you have any further questions :)