× Members

What do 'background checks' mean in DLA-PIP?

More
7 years 6 months ago #172318 by LindaRiver
Hello Community,
I am a newbie here and I wonder if anyone can please help me.
My sister's DLA is ending and she was asked to apply for PIP. A friend made the initial call and was asked a lot of questions that they didn't have the answers for. They were told that forms (we thought PIP1 and PIP2) were being sent out and if the forms didn't arrive in three weeks to call a number. It is now three weeks and the forms did not arrive.
A different friend has now called to ask where the forms are. They have been told that the PIP1 was already carried out on the phone. The friend asked how that could have happened when the needed info was not available, they were told "it doesn't matter". They were then told that before a PIP2 is sent to the claimant "background checks" will be carried out.
Does anyone know what those background checks are? Will they have already contacted my sister's GP?
Any info on this would be so helpful, Thank you,
Linda

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
7 years 6 months ago #172351 by Gordon
LR

Welcome to the forum, you might want to have a look at the following FAQ which explain where everything is

Welcome to Benefits and Work

In case you are not aware, your real name appears to be showing in the forum, if you want to change this then follow the instructions in the following FAQ

My full name is showing, how can I stop it?

Has your sister been out of the country recently and in particular for a long period? This is the only background check that I can think of that would delay the sending of the PIP2.

If you can supply more information on the calls it might make it clearer.

Gordon

Nothing on this board constitutes legal advice - always consult a professional about specific problems

More
7 years 6 months ago #172373 by george42
Replied by george42 on topic What do 'background checks' mean in DLA-PIP?