× Members

DLA to PIP Success - Now for ESA / UC

More
5 years 2 months ago #226468 by Pingu
Hello all,

You were kind enough to help me years ago with my DLA appeal (as well as your various guides being invaluable)

I had been receiving DLA since 2002 due to a very rare (unfortunately) condition. When I had to appeal all the way to highest appeal they took 10 mins to make a decision and I had an indefinite award at the levels I was already on but they said of course PIP coming in will stop that.

As a result and despite not working for last 3 years I’ve been living of savings and the DLA. Due to the horror stories of PIP I didn’t want to contact DWP as I was 100% in the change over to PIP I wouldn’t get anything. To my utter amazement the PIP process for me was obviously scary as I was due to lose my only source of income but the assessor couldn’t have been nicer and had read up on condition etc. The upshot is I received an indefinite award (not to be reviewed until 2028 at earliest provided no change in circumstances) with the enhanced rates of both categories so I’d dramatically increased the income from DLA.

Due to dwindling savings I.e none and this very strong PIP award I’m now going through process of claiming UC / ESA - and to be honest I’m finding it how I imagined the PIP assessment to be. I’ve currently had my first payment in the initial 12 week stage. However my work coach didn’t explain ESA to me very well and when I queried a couple of things with her via the journal she said to ring so and so a number. I did and I apparently reached my claims manager who said she’d start ball rolling as far as a medical etc. Another one I thought? But today I’ve receoved a UC50 form asking very similar questions to the PIP forms but potentially even more harsh ‘can you pick up a pound coin? For one.